Internet Archive
Vast source of digitized materials, including books, audio & movies
Project Gutenberg
Established resource of over 57,000 free eBooks
Current pricing of all 1.590 cryptocurrencies
Comprehensive Bitcoin/Bitcoin Cash-related site

Below is the complete work of historian and philosopher Will Durant as released as "The Story of Civilization". This critically acclaimed series of 11 volumes is an important addition to any reference library of note. These books are still available for purchase through online sources as hardcover texts, or, if digital files are equally as convenient, available for download as pdfs free of charge by clicking on the book covers. (Also available through

  The title of the first of Durant's 11 books on the Story of Civilization was "Our Oriental Heritage", which covers Near Eastern history until the fall of the First Persian Empire in 330BC, as well as the histories of India, China, and Japan up to the mid-1930s. It was published in 1935, and ominously predicted war with Japan as a result of past historical precedent. Clicking here or on the book cover at right will download a pdf copy of the complete text.  
  Published in 1939, Durant's "The Life of Greece" is another exhaustive work, and covers the history of Greek civilization from the beginnings, and of civilization in the Near East from the Death of Alexander to the Roman Conquest. A quote that has proven to be a harbinger of the future of nations is, "We have tried to show that the essential cause of the Roman conquest of Greece was the disintegration of Greek civilization from within. No great nation is ever conquered until it has destroyed itself."  
  "Caesar and Christ" followed five years later (1944) and follows the expansion of the Roman Empire, from its infancy in 500BC through its apex under the Caesars to its collapse and eventual acceptance of Christianity under Constantine the Great in 325AD.  
  In 1950, Durant released the next volume in his series, titled "The Age of Faith". This compelling volume covers the history of medieval civilization—Christian, Islamic, and Judaic—from Constantine to Dante, encompassing the years 325AD through 1300AD.  
  Durant's "The Renaissance" followed three years later and was published the year he turned 68. It's focus was on the two-and-a-half centuries of the Italian Renaissance, which began in 1300.  
  "The Reformation", Durant's sixth historical tome made its appearance in 1957. Encompassing the same timeframe as his last volume, this one covers the Protestant Reformation that occurred across Europe and Russia.  
  The year John F. Kennedy was sworn into office as President, Durant released his next volume of the series, this one beginning his joint authorship with his wife, Ariel. Titled "The Age of Reason Begins", the 90 years of European and the Near East history from 1558 is presented. As Durant laments, "Is Christianity dying? ... If this is so, it is the basic event of modern times, for the soul of a civilization is its religion, and it dies with its faith."  
  France plays a key role in the Durant's following volume, "The Age of Louis XIV". Published in 1963, it delves into the history of European civilization in the period of Pascal, Moliere, Cromwell, Milton, Peter the Great, Newton, and Spinoza, from 1648 to 1715.  
  A mere two years elapsed before the ninth volume of The Story of Civilization was released, titled "The Age of Voltaire". Will Durant turns 80 this year of his and Ariel's work on the period of the Age of Enlightenment, as exemplified by Voltaire, and focusing on the period between 1715 and 1756 in France, Britain, and Germany.  
  In 1967, the Durant's published "Rousseau and Revolution", their tenth volume in the series, that explores France, England, and Germany from 1756, and in the rest of Europe from 1715 to 1789. It was the following year that Durant was presented with the Pulitzer Prize for this considerable effort.  
  "The Age of Napoleon", the Durant's final volume in the series appeared in print in 1975, and covered the era of Napoleon I. Will is a frail 90 years of age, having dedicated over 40 years of his life to this incredible body of work.  
  Prior to finishing their last volume of The Story of Civilization, Will and Ariel Durant made note of events and comments from their 11-volume momentous work that "might illuminate present affairs, future probabilities, the nature of man, and the conduct of states". Thus, The Lessons of History was born as a distillation of their gargantuan 40-year effort.  

Copyright © 1996-2018 - Studium Magazine - All Rights Relinquished